Tarot #0 – The Fool

A couple of weeks ago we started a new little zine called Tarot. The zine will follow a full Rider-Waite tarot deck from 1905, each issue based on a single card. A full deck  counts 78 cards consisting of the Major Arcana (22 cards) and the Minor Arcana (56 cards). With a random time interval, me and Göksu Kunak invite a small group of people who we believe fit with the card, to think, discuss, eat cake, and generate content based on their personal reading or interpretation of the card. Each issue should be completed within one day, as intuition is a big part of Tarot.

Tarot honors the original numbering of the deck and starts with a very special one, Card 0 – The Fool. For this first issue of Tarot we invited graphic designer Madalena Boavida (PT) and film-maker Benjamin Deboosere (BE) to think with us about the fool.


Our next issue will be The Magician, following the Major Arcana

The Major Arcana (greater secrets), or trump cards, consists of 22 cards without suits: The Magician, The High Priestess, The Empress, The Emperor, The Hierophant, The Lovers, The Chariot, Strength, The Hermit, Wheel of Fortune, Justice, The Hanged Man, Death, Temperance, The Devil, The Tower, The Star, The Moon, The Sun, Judgement, The World and The Fool.
The Minor Arcana (lesser secrets) consists of 56 cards, divided into four suits of 14 cards each; ten numbered cards and four court cards. The court cards are the King, Queen, Knight and Page/Jack, in each of the four tarot suits.